5. Phrasal verbs, idioms and other expressions using ‘come’

5. Phrasal verbs, idioms and other expressions using ‘come’

1.      Have you ever come across such a horrible person in all your life? (to meet someone or find something by chance)

2.      How is Sarah coming along with her photography course? (to make progress or get better in quality, skill or health)

3.      I am British, but my parents come from India. (to have your home in a particular place)

4.      Fast food has come in for more criticism from the press. (to receive something such as criticism)

5.      I do not want the problem of money coming between us. (to cause an argument or disagreement between two people)

6.      I have been writing this book for six months, and its finally coming together. (to finally start to work successfully)

7.      As I get older, I find that my birthdays seem to come around more frequently. (to happen regularly)

8.      She came in a lot of money when her grandfather died. (to receive something – usually money – when someone died)

9.      We need to come up with a plan that will make us a lot of money. (to think of something such as an idea or plan)

10.  In the first week of my new job, I came up against several problems that had been left by the person who had my job previously. (to have to deal with something difficult or unpleasant)

11.  The national blood service is asking for more people to come forward and donate blood. (to offer help or information)

12.  You never know what children are going to come out with. (to say something suddenly, usually something that surprise or shocks people)

13.  The first time I tried using my new camera, it came apart in my hands. (to separate into pieces, sometimes because the object- in this case a camera – has been badly made)

14.  We have had a difficult few weeks, but I am glad to see we have managed to come through together. (to be still alive, working or making progress after a difficult or dangerous experience)

15.  I do not feel very good. I think I am coming down with something. (to become ill with a particular disease, but not usually one that is serious)

 

 

Julie:  You two-timing, double-crossing cheat!

Rick:  Come again?

Julie:  You heard me. I saw you leaving a restaurant with a strange woman today.

Rick:  Come off it/ I do not know where you are coming from! What woman?

Julie:  Do not come the innocent with me!

Rick:  Look, I am sorry, but I do not know where you are coming from.

Julie:  The long-haired brunette in the jeans and leather jacket.

Rick:  Ah, right. How come you saw us?

Julie:  I had gone into town to do some shopping and sat the two of you. Who is she? And do not lie, or you will get what is coming, believe me.

Rick:  Well, I suppose I will have to come clean, won’t it?

Julie:  You certainly will.

Rick:  You saw us from behind, right?

Julie:  Uh, right.

Rick:  Yes, well, when it comes to making false assumptions, you win. That was Alan, my new boss.

 

Tim:  I have not seen John today. Come to think about it, I have not seen him for a few weeks.

Andy:  Oh, he is busy moving into his new house. He has bought a place in Hampstead.

Tim:  In Hampstead? How did he afford that? Houses in Hampstead do not come cheap.

Andy:  Well, he has come a long way/come up in the world since he worked as salesman for PTG. He owns his own company now, and making a fortune. Apparently he is now as rich as they come.

Tim:  He kept that quiet. I did not know how much he had come up in the world.

Andy:  Well, he does not like to boast about it. How are you getting on in your new job, by the way?

Tim:  Oh, there is so much to do and so much to learn that most of the time I do not know if I am coming or going. I am just taking each day as it comes. How is work for you?

Andy:  Oh, so so, you know. I was hoping to look for something else more interesting, but there are not many jobs out there. I guess I will be with the same company for years to come. What I need is a big win on the lottery.

Tim:  Yes, that would come in handy! In the mean time, how about buying me another drink?

Andy:  Same again?

Tim:  Yes please.

Andy:  Ok, coming right up!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

